Modern Warfare 2 Hardcore Tier 1 multiplayer modes explained

Extreme modes, renamed Tier 1 for multiplayer in Modern Warfare 2, are a set of playlists that have earned fan favorite status in Call of Duty over the years.

Modern Warfare Hardcore modes should not be confused with Realism mode, which is something completely separate.

While you may be eager to jump right into Tier 1 at launch, you may have to wait a little longer than expected, but we’ll go over everything we know about Hardcore modes, aka Tier 1, in Modern Warfare 2 next.

In this page:

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Last-Gen: Can PS4/PS4 Pro and Xbox One/X deliver 60fps?

How to Play Tier 1 Hardcore Modes in Modern Warfare 2

Although still generally known as Hardcore, these difficult playlists have been renamed to Level 1; However, that’s not the only reason you can’t find Hardcore in multiplayer right now.

Since Tier 1 doesn’t appear in multiplayer playlists, you might be wondering if Modern Warfare 2 even has Hardcore mode in multiplayer. Fortunately, you will eventually be able to play Hardcore, but unfortunately it is not available at launch.

Originally, developer Infinity Ward didn’t give details on when it would be added, but did note that Tier 1 would be “available soon.”

However, during launch weekend, their official multiplayer overview post was updated to confirm that Hardcore Tier 1 will be added to Modern Warfare 2 at the start of Season 1, so we won’t be able to play rosters. level 1 playback until Wednesday, November 16. .

For everyone wondering, Tier 1 is not in the game at launch, but will be available soon.

Stay frozen 🫡

– Infinity Room (@InfinityWard) October 28, 2022

To view this content, please enable targeting cookies. Manage cookie settings

It’s disappointing if Hardcore is usually your go-to for multiplayer in Call of Duty, but there are still plenty of modes you can play right now while we wait for Tier 1 to drop, including:

  • Team Deathmatch
  • Domination
  • Death confirmed
  • Free for everyone
  • Campus
  • difficult point
  • Search and destroy
  • Moshpit in third person (in Team Deathmatch, Domination and Hardpoint)
  • Invasion
  • Battlefield
  • Prisoner rescue
  • Knock out

When Tier 1 is added to multiplayer, access to it can be clear from the multiplayer menu, or it can follow the same process as in the original Modern Warfare reboot. This was done by selecting the ‘Filter’ option in the main multiplayer lobby.

When you pressed ‘Filter’, you were able to select and deselect the modes you wanted to play. You then had to reveal the Tier 1 Hardcore playlists by pressing ‘Square’ on PlayStation or ‘X’ on Xbox.

How Hardcore was accessed in Modern Warfare (2019).

Hopefully it’ll be a little more streamlined than this in Modern Warfare 2, but we won’t know until Tier 1 is available.

Getting stuck in multiplayer? We explain the best weapons in Modern Warfare 2 and how to unlock all weapons and accessories, as well as individual pages on how to build an MP5 loadout, an FTAC loadout, an M4 loadout, a Kastov 762 loadout, a SP-R 208 loadout, a TAQ 56. 556 Icarus equipment, Vel 46 equipment, M16 equipment and FSS Hurricane equipment. At launch, you may be wondering where the Battle Pass and Hardcore Tier 1 modes are, as well as how to claim Modern Warfare 2 Twitch drops. Elsewhere, learn how to turn off cross-play on PlayStation and Xbox, get and use Double XP, level up quickly, get gold camouflage, check KD and unlock all MW2 operators. Replaying the story? We have explanations for the duration of the Modern Warfare 2 campaign and all the safe code combinations.

Everything we know about Tier 1 Extreme Modes in Modern Warfare 2

Tier 1 (aka Hardcore) will be much more challenging compared to traditional multiplayer modes in Modern Warfare 2.

Operators have lower health and limited HUD elements, and there is friendly fire. These in-game modifications are consistent across all game modes that support a Tier 1 variant.

We’re not sure what exactly these game modes are, but based on the playlists included in Modern Warfare in 2019, we could expect the following Tier 1 Hardcore variations:

  • Tier 1 Team Deathmatch
  • Level 1 Cyber ​​Attack
  • Level 1 Domination
  • Search and Destroy Level 1
  • Level 1 Headquarters

Based on how it worked in previous Call of Duty games, you’ll also likely be able to compare your ranking with your friends within the “Leaderboards” portion of the multiplayer lobby.

To view this content, please enable targeting cookies. Manage cookie settings

Categories: Guides

Leave a Comment