List of Nicknames of Indian Prime Ministers

The chief executive of the Indian government is the prime minister. The Prime Minister of India is chosen by the President; However, unless a prime minister resigns, he must have the support of the majority of Lok Sabha members, who are directly elected every five years.

India, a country rich in emotions and values, gave its leaders various nicknames in recognition of their extraordinary contributions to the country’s growth. These nicknames are short names that replace one’s own name or a completely different name to express affection, amusement, a character trait, or character slur.

Do you know what the pet names of Indian Prime Ministers are?

List of New Indian Cabinet Ministers 2022: Check Updated List with Portfolio

List of nicknames of Indian Prime Ministers

There have been 14 Prime Ministers in India since 1947. Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India and served during the existence of the Dominion of India (15 August 1947 to 26 January 1950) and then the Republic of India from that time until his death in May 1964. While the current Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, is the first non-Congressman to lead the nation for two consecutive terms.

indian prime minister


Politic party

Jawahar Lal Nehru

Pandita, Chacha

Indian National Congress

Lal Bahadur Shastri

Peaceful man


Indian National Congress

Indira Gandhi


Iron Lady of India

indian mother


Indian National Congress

Morarji Desai

man of principles

Janata Festival

Charan Singh

Champion of the Indian peasants

Janata Party (Secular)

Rajiv Gandhi

Father of India’s IT and Telecommunication Revolution

Indian National Congress

Vishwanath Pratap Singh

clean sir

Janata Dal

Chandra Shekhar

young turkish

Samajwadi Janata Party

PV Narasimha Rao

The modern Chanakya

Indian National Congress

Atal Bihari Vajpayee


Bhishma Pitamaha

Bhartiya Janata Party

HD Deve Gowda

Mannina Maga (Son of the Earth)

Dodda Gowdaru (Senior Gowda)

Janata Dal

Manmohan Singh

Silent PM

Accidental PM

Indian National Congress

Narendra Modi

Namo, Modiji, Chaiwala, Chowkidar

Bhartiya Janata Party

Interesting Facts About Indian Prime Ministers

  • Pandit Nehru, the country’s first prime minister, was imprisoned nine times during the struggle for independence from the British Raj, for a total of 3,259 days.
  • Due to his role as acting Prime Minister, Gulzarilal Nanda is not considered the second or fourth Prime Minister of India.
  • When Shastri was transport minister, he was the first to nominate women directors.
  • The first and only female prime minister of India was Indira Gandhi.
  • The first non-Congress Prime Minister of India was Morarji Desai.
  • For 170 days, Chaudhary Charan Singh was Prime Minister of India.
  • At 40 years old, Rajiv Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi’s husband, is the youngest person to serve as Prime Minister of India.
  • In 1970, Air India also hired him as a pilot.
  • The first prime minister to resign following a no-confidence vote was Vishwanath Pratap Singh.
  • The first Indian Prime Minister who never held a government position is Chandra Shekhar.
  • Lawyer PV Narasimha Rao was fluent in 17 languages.
  • During his student days, Mr. Gujral was influenced by nationalist ideas and joined the Communist Party of India and the All India Students’ Federation.
  • The most qualified prime minister in the world is Manmohan Singh, India’s first Sikh leader.
  • The first prime minister born after India gained independence from the British Raj is Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The Prime Minister of India acts as the head of the executive branch and responsible for proceedings in Parliament. He is often the leader of the party or coalition that has the majority in the Lok Sabha, which serves as the main legislative body of the Republic of India. While Lok Sabha acts as the permanent supervisory body of the prime minister.

List of Prime Ministers of India (1947-2023)

Categories: Optical Illusion

Leave a Comment