Indian States and Capitals 2023: Check List of Indian States, UT and Capitals

Indian States, UTs and Capitals: India is a vast country with rich history and culture. It is also a federal republic, meaning it is divided into states and union territories. Each state and union territory has its own capital city. The capital cities of India house the governments of their respective states and union territories. India is a union of 28 states and 8 union territories. States and union territories are subdivided into smaller administrative divisions and districts. The Constitution was adopted on November 26, 1949 and came into force on January 26, 1950. The boundaries of the Indian states are reorganized on a linguistic basis by the States Reorganization Act, 1956.

Through this article, we take a look at the Indian States and Union Territories, along with their capitals and Chief Ministers/Lieutenant Governors/Administrators.

Read also | Union Territories of India

List of states and capitals of India

Below is the complete list of Indian states and their capitals, along with their chief ministers.

Andhra Pradesh

Capital: Amaravati

Chief Minister: Shri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy

Arunachal Pradesh

Capital: Itanagar

Chief Minister: Shri Pema Khandu


Capital: Dispur

Chief Minister: Shri Himanta Biswa Sarma


Capital: Patna

Chief Minister: Shri Nitish Kumar


Capital: Raipur

Chief Minister: Shri Bhupesh Baghel


Capital: Panaji

Chief Minister: Shri Pramod Sawant


Capital: Gandhinagar

Chief Minister: Shri Bhupendra Patel


Capital: Chandigarh

Chief Minister: Shri Manohar Lal Khattar

Himachal Pradesh

Capital: Shimla (summer), Dharamshala (winter)

Chief Minister: Shri Jairam Thakur


Capital: Ranchi

Chief Minister: Shri Hemant Soren


Capital: Bengaluru

Chief Minister: Sri Siddaramaiah


Capital: Thiruvananthapuram

Chief Minister: Shri Pinarayi Vijayan

Madhya Pradesh

Capital: Bhopal

Chief Minister: Shri Shivraj Singh Chouhan


Capital: Mumbai (summer), Nagpur (winter)

Chief Minister: Shri Uddhav Thackeray


Capital: Imphal

Chief Minister: Shri N. Biren Singh


Capital: Shillong

Chief Minister: Shri Conrad Kongkal Sangma


Capital: Aizawl

Chief Minister: Shri Pu Zoramthanga


Capital: Kohima

Chief Minister: Shri Neiphiu Rio


Capital: Bhubaneshwar

Chief Minister: Shri Naveen Patnaik


Capital: Chandigarh

Chief Minister: Shri Charanjit Singh Channi


Capital: Jaipur

Chief Minister: Shri Ashok Gehlot


Capital: Gangtok

Chief Minister: Shri PS Golay


Capital: Madras

Chief Minister: Shri MK Stalin


Capital: Hyderabad

Chief Minister: Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao


Capital: Agartala

Chief Minister: Shri Biplab Kumar Deb

Uttar Pradesh

Capital: Lucknow

Chief Minister: Shri Yogi Adityanath


Capital: Bhararisain (summer), Dehradun (winter)

Chief Minister: Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami

west bengal

Capital: Calcutta

Chief Minister: Smt Mamata Banerjee

Read also | Largest State in India 2022: Check list of all states by area and population

List of Union Territories and Capitals

Below is the complete list of Union Territories and their capitals, along with their Chief Ministers/Lieutenant Governors/Administrators.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Capital: Port Blair

Lieutenant Governor: Shri Devendra Kumar Joshi


Capital: Chandigarh

Administrator: Shri Banwarilal Purohit

Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

Capital: Daman

Administrator: Shri Praful Patel


Capital: Kavaratti

Administrator: Shri Praful Patel


Capital: Puducherry

Chief Minister: Shri N. Rangaswamy

Lieutenant Governor: Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan

National Capital Territory of Delhi

Capital: Delhi

Chief Minister: Shri Arvind Kejriwal

Lieutenant Governor: Shri Anil Baijal

Jammu and Kashmir

Capital: Srinagar (summer), Jammu (winter)

Lieutenant Governor: Shri Manoj Sinha


Capital: Leh (summer), Kargil (winter)

Lieutenant Governor: Shri Radha Krishna Mathur

Read also | GK Quiz on States and Union Territories of India

List of states and UTs of India and their capitals

The Constitution of India is federal in nature but unitary in a method which means that the states of India have no right to secede from the union. Therefore, India has unitary features (like gubernatorial appointment, concurrent list, single citizenship, single constitution) and federal features (union list, state list, state elections, etc.). Therefore, it is quasi-federal.

You may be interested in reading the following articles:

Categories: Optical Illusion

Leave a Comment